Home > About ABES > Scientific commitee

Scientific commitee

Role and operating methods of the Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is a consultative body which gives its opinions and recommendations on ABES’s orientations with a view to future developments.

The Scientific Committee analyses all questions submitted by the Board of Directors and then provides opinions and recommendations for the Board.
 It may also suggest matters that the Board of Directors should meet to discuss.
 Its proposals are then submitted to the Board of Directors for approval.

The chairman of the Scientific Committee may invite outside participants to the Committee’s meetings if their areas of expertise are useful for matters scheduled to be discussed. The chairman may also request assistance from external experts if the members of the Scientific Committee consider they are not qualified to fully examine a given question.

This committee’s first meeting took place on December 17th 2010.

Composition of the Scientific Committee

The Board of Directors appointed the members of the Scientific Committee at their meeting on November 25th 2013. The Scientific Committee is made of professional figures who are experienced in ABES’s working areas. Their mandate is for three years. The Scientific Committee is made up of:

Mr. Laurent ROMARY, research director at the National Institute for Research in Computer Science and Control (INRIA) is chairman of the Scientific Committee.

4 members from ABES partner organisations:

  • Gildas Illien, MNHN-Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle
  • Frédérique Joannic-Seta, BnF
  •  Olivier Rouchon, CINES
  • Stéphane Pouyllau, HumaNum

2 overseas professionals working in the same areas as ABES :

  • Jeannette Frey, BCU Lausanne et Vice-présidente de Liber
  • Magaly Bascones, Bloomsbury Publishing UK

5 researchers working in the same areas as ABES :

  • Patrice Bellot, Laboratoire LSIS, Aix Marseille Université
  • Gilles Dumont, Université de Nantes
  • Sébastien Ferré, IRISA
  • Elena Pierazzo, Laboratoire LUHCIE, Université Grenoble Alpes
  • Laurent Romary, INRIA et DARIAH

4 library professionals working in University libraries:

  • Monique Joly, Doc’INSA Lyon
  • Grégory Miura, SCD Université Bordeaux Montaigne
  • Julien Roche, SCD Université de Lille
  • Yann Sordet, Bibliothèque Mazarine

1 library professional working for a Public Scientific and Technical Research Institution (EPST)  

  • Claire François, INIST-CNRS

2 elected ABES staff members

  • Yann Nicolas, for the head librarian college
  • Aurélien Charot, for the ingenior college

The chairman of the Abes Board, Abes director and the responsable of the Laboratory are also attend Scientific Committee meetings.

Election of the chairman

The chairman of the Scientific Committee is elected for a renewable three year period from among the committee members.

Go up